top of page
  • ellewood6

Daily Diary 22: San Antonio to Austin - 100 miles and 3800 ft climbing

Updated: Mar 26, 2019

I made it to Austin for my rest day! Today was a pretty long ride, 100 miles. It started beautifully riding through an amazing Greenway just west of San Antonio. Really beautiful for about 15 miles. After that it was a little battling of urban sprawl and then some rural roads on the way up to Austin. The back roads early on were unfortunately filled with gravel trucks, apparently there are quite a few quarries in that area. Saw a bunch of cool towns (e.g Gruene and San Marcos) along the way though. Once past the quarries, the roads were really enjoyable. Came across an Israeli  guy who was biking from New Orleans to California, pretty cool. I was kind of looking forward to some flatter terrain but the rolling hills translated to quite a bit of climbing! Hopefully it’ll lessen as I get closer to the coast. The final few miles into Austin were great, downhill with designated bike paths which was nice to have. Had a great meal and was able to catch up with some good friends and settle into my nice hotel off of Rainey Street. Tomorrow will be a rest day and I will be meeting up with some buddies to enjoy Austin. My body is definitely settling into some longer distances. Even though it was 100 miles I felt pretty good. I have noticed that I have been increasing the distances week over week, didn’t really plan that but guess that’s the way it goes.



12 views0 comments
bottom of page