top of page
  • ellewood6

Day 35 New Orleans LA to Biloxi MS - 80 miles

 After two fantastic rest days in New Orleans I was back on the road today to Biloxi Mississippi. Didn’t seem like I was in Louisiana that long, certainly not nearly as long as I was in Texas that is for sure. The rest days were fantastic, great eating and exploring one of my favorite cities. While the French quarter gets a little too touristy for me I do love the French market, and the warehouse district for all the great restaurants.  As an added bonus my wife came in after more than a month away and will be with me for the next few days of riding, it will be nice to have some support!  On Friday went to the Hogs for the Cause party that my friend Louie was involved with. What a terrific event and so nice of Louie to host us. I definitely want to come back and stay for a few more days next year. 

While we had beautiful weather in New Orleans over the weekend, sunny and high of 80, the weather decided to take a significant  turn for the worse today, with rain and mid- 40° weather. The rain was hard in the morning so I didn’t get on the road until after lunch. Not an ideal way to start the day: wet cold and late.  This was definitely a day for chunking it up into smaller pieces to get through it. The wind was pretty strong and blowing rain into my face which really brings me down. But by doing it a piece at a time and taking my time to take breaks along the way, it went faster than expected. 

Once I was outside of New Orleans Highway 90 was pretty empty and a fairly easy ride through the bayous and swaps. Ran into a French family, husband and wife and two kids, who were biking from Miami to Seattle over the next six months! What a great adventure and good for them to do it!  Once I got to the bay of St. Louis there were great bike trails along the water all the way to Biloxi which made it much easier and also very pretty! Tomorrow will be a much longer day, close to 100 miles including a ferry ride which should be fun.


 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page